Loading…
Back To Schedule
Friday, June 4 • 7:00am - 8:30am
Exploration: The Pandemic, Power and Play: Creating an Improvisational Movement for Social Change LIMITED

Log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Feedback form is now closed.
Limited Capacity seats available

Register in advance for this event:
https://uci.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEpc-CopjgsGtOu5IL-yLJCpDpOSJVz0tyt (UPDATED)
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the event.

Events that have space limits will honor those who have scheduled this event on Sched, so please register for the entire FREE Coup de Comedy Festival | Global Improvisation Initiative Symposium 2021 here. Once an event is full, it is full.

The power of improvisation, play and performance for social change and human development is profound, alive, transforming and growing by leaps and bounds.

Early on in the pandemic; 100 impro performance activists gathered online to improvisationally create a transformational community; since June of 2020 the Global Play Brigade has provided over 250 free impro and emotional support workshops on Zoom and WhatsAPP, to 5000 people from 60 countries as a way to socially connect, create new possibilities, and support our fellow human beings through this crisis.

Global Play Brigadiers; Improvisers, clowns, educators, therapists, musicians, scholars, artists, are giving their time and talent to co-create with thousands of others in the building of a movement/network/community that reaches into homes, workplaces, communities, universities, and across geographies. We are not interested in simply “going back to normal” when/if the pandemic ends. The Global Play Brigade and its multi-cultural/disciplined activists are using this window of opportunity that the pandemic opened in many different ways to cross borders, barriers and boundaries -- bringing play and impro to people everywhere as a way to listen, talk, heal, laugh, co-create and change the world together.

Join Brigadiers Cathy Salit, Rita Ezenwa-Okoro, and Omar Ali in this interactive session to explore how to continue to grow and transform the global improvisation movement for social change.

Starting on Friday, June 4 at:
7:00 am Pacific Time (US) PDT UTC-7
8:00 am Mountain Time (US) MDT UTC-6
9:00 am Central Time (US) CDT UTC-5
10:00 am Eastern Time (US) EDT UTC-4
11:00 am Rio de Janeiro, Brazil -3UTC-3
3:00 pm London, UK BST UTC+1
4:00 pm Berlin, Germany CEST UTC+2
5:00 pm Moscow, Russia MSK UTC+4
6:00 pm Dubai, United Arab Emirates+04 UTC+4
7:30 pm Mumbai, India IST UTC+5:30
10:00 pm Beijing, China & Singapore +08 UTC+8
11:00 pm Tokyo, Japan JST UTC+9
12:00 am (Sat) Sydney, Australia AeST UTC+10

Artists
avatar for Cathy Salit

Cathy Salit

Chief Organizer, Global Play Brigade
Cathy Salit is the founder of the Global Play Brigade, a volunteer community of play, impro and performance activists providing free workshops online. She is the CEO Emerita of the award-winning performatory leadership consultancy Performance of a Lifetime, author of Performance Breakthrough... Read More →
avatar for Omar H. Ali

Omar H. Ali

Omar H. Ali is Dean of Lloyd International Honors College, and Professor of Comparative African Diaspora History at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro where he has infused improvisation, performance and play into the curriculum and in the culture of the college and the... Read More →
avatar for Rita Ezenwa-Okoro

Rita Ezenwa-Okoro

Rita Ezenwa-Okoro is a Creative Culturist, Performance Activist and Communications expert. She is the Founder and Lead Visionary of Street Project Foundation Nigeria, where she uses improv, play and performance as tools for youth development, social mobilization and cross-cultural... Read More →

Sponsors
avatar for Global Play Brigade (GPB)

Global Play Brigade (GPB)

The Global Play Brigade (GPB) has emerged in response to the global pandemic that is affecting all of humanity. We are artists/performers/therapists/educators who come out of the growing social movement of performance activism. We believe that integrating and utilizing play, impro... Read More →


Friday June 4, 2021 7:00am - 8:30am PDT
UCI Zoom