Loading…
Back To Schedule
Sunday, June 6 • 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Act Social Screening & Talkback LIMITED

Log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Feedback form is now closed.
Limited Capacity seats available

From politics to medicine, Act Social, a documentary film, explores the healing potential of applied improvisation. Features famed improv comedian Colin Mochrie of Whose Line is it, Anyway?
The principles of improv, such as “Yes And,” lead to hilarious comedy onstage but can they also be used to solve problems like depression, social anxiety, or conflict? Applied improvisers believe the answer is “Yes!”
In our documentary film we show what happens when different kinds of people try improv: refugees, tragedy survivors, couples in counseling, and people involved in political debate.
In Act Social, you will also meet improv teachers and drama therapists who work with communities in need, giving audiences a never-before-seen look at the possibilities improv can bring to real life.

The screening will be followed by a talkback with the film's director Sean A. Mulvihill

Register in advance for this event:
https://uci.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcsfumopj8iGdVCR-23eGS8juCYnDKdRebN
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the event.

Events that have space limits will honor those who have scheduled this event on Sched, so please register for the entire FREE Coup de Comedy Festival | Global Improvisation Initiative Symposium 2021 here. Once an event is full, it is full.

Starting on Sunday, June 6th at:
4:00 pm Pacific Time (US) PDT UTC-7
5:00 pm Mountain Time (US) MDT UTC-6
6:00 pm Central Time (US) CDT UTC-5
7:00 pm Eastern Time (US) EDT UTC-4
8:00 pm Rio de Janeiro, Brazil -3UTC-3
12:00 am (Mon) London, UK BST UTC+1
1:00 am (Mon) Berlin, Germany CEST UTC+2
2:00 am (Mon) Moscow, Russia MSK UTC+4
3:00 am (Mon) Dubai, United Arab Emirates+04 UTC+4
4:30 am (Mon) Mumbai, India IST UTC+5:30
7:00 am (Mon) Beijing, China & Singapore +08 UTC+8
8:00 am (Mon) Tokyo, Japan JST UTC+9
9:00 am (Mon) Sydney, Australia AeST UTC+10

Artists
avatar for Sean Mulvihill

Sean Mulvihill

Artistic Director, Exuberant Improv Comedy Team
Sean is the Artistic Director of the Exuberant Improv Comedy Team which has had an open-ended run of over two years at New York City’s Broadway Comedy Club.Sean A. Mulvihill is currently directing the documentary feature film, Act Social starring Colin Mochrie (Whose Line is it, Anyway?). In the film, Sean and Colin lead a group of improv instructors who try to save the world by teaching improv to politicians (and everybody else).Sean is known around the globe for creating and starring in the 2007 docu/drama feature... Read More →


Sunday June 6, 2021 4:00pm - 6:00pm PDT
UCI Zoom